Public Site | Contact | Click here to log in

2012 Regional Hospital Heroes

As part of the ninth-annual “Hospital Heroes” contest, individual regional hospital councils of the Alabama Hospital Association recognized their area honorees for their dedication to the health care industry. The contest will culminate with a banquet in February where 10 Hospital Heroes and one Hospital Hero Physician will be recognized. Below are winners by council:

Birmingham Regional Hospital Council Winners

Birmingham Regional 2012 Winners

Front row: Susan Davenport, RN, MSN, CRNP, NNP-BC, Trinity Medical Center; Susan Allison, MSN, RN, CCNS, St. Vincent's East; Terry Sims, UAB Callahan Eye Hospital; Sherry Cole, RN, MSN, CCRN, CCNS, Trinity Medical Center; Pat Spiller, CRNP, Walker Baptist Medical Center; and Juanita Williams, Princeton Baptist Medical Center
Back row: Jason Thompson, MD, St. Vincent's East; John McGowan, UAB Callahan Eye Hospital; Joyce Horn, MT (HEW), UAB Callahan Eye Hospital; Susan Blumstein, MT, CIC, CPHQ, Shelby Baptist Medical Center; Sandra Stephens, wife of the late Michael Stephens, Veterans Affairs Medical Center; and Kellie Flood, MD, UAB Hospital

Central Regional Hospital Council Winners

2012 Central Regional Winners

Front row: Kay Walters, MBA, RRT-NPS, AE-C, Jackson Hospital; Janet  Atchison, RN, Vaughan Regional Medical Center; Rachel Chance, MD, Prattville Baptist; Alveta Reese, RN, BSN, OCN, CPC, East Alabama Medical Center; Deborah Owen, M.Ed., LPC, East Alabama Medical Center; and Brenda Basnight, CRT, Baptist Medical Center East
Back row: Christine Bruton, CPA, Baptist Health; David Coffey, DO, KCHS, FAAO, FCA, Jackson Hospital; Dave Berry, Baptist Medical Center South; Leigh Parker, RN, BSN, CEN, Baptist Medical Center East; Beverly West, RN, Baptist Medical Center South; John Collins, Crossbridge Behavioral Health, Baptist Medical Center South; and Thomas Stokes, MD, East Alabama Medical Center

North Regional Hospital Council Winners

North Regional Council

Front row: Lionel Naylor, MD, Parkway Medical Center; Sean Leslie, Crestwood Medical Center; Scott Harris, MD, FACP, Decatur General Hospital; and Tiffany Watkins, RN, Huntsville Hospital
Back row: Stewart Stokes, RN, Crestwood Medical Center, and Paige Norris, Decatur General Hospital
Not pictured: Shelia Kimbrough, RN, Russellville Hospital, and Keith Morrow, DO, Russellville Hospital

Northeast Regional Hospital Council Winners  

Northeast Council 2012 Winners

Front row:  Jimmy Kirby, Northeast Alabama Regional Medical Center; Joni Thomas, RN, Northeast Alabama Regional Medical Center; Mary Beth Cheeks, Citizens Baptist Medical Center; Angela Cox, RN, Riverview Regional Medical Center; and Jerria Carter, RN, Gadsden Regional Medical Center
Back row:  Danny Barker, Clay County Healthcare Authority; Barbara Embry, Citizens Baptist Medical Center; Jeff Sauls, MLT, Gadsden Regional Medical Center; and Dee Williams, RN, DeKalb Regional Medical Center; Shirley Payne, Wedowee Hospital

Southeast Regional Hospital Council Winners

Southeast Regional Council 2012 Winners

Front row: Wilton McRae, MD, Troy Regional Medical Center; Edward Planz, MD, Flowers Hospital; Patsy McGowan, RN, Southeast Alabama Medical Center; Betty King, Troy Regional Medical Center; Bobbie Edwards, Flowers Hospital; and Rachael Wagner, RN, BSN, Medical Center Enterprise
Back row: Frank Sumner, Flowers Hospital; Samuel Curtis Shortt, RN, Southeast Alabama Medical Center; Mike Mullen, Mizell Memorial Hospital; Douglas Phillips, Southeast Alabama Medical Center; Joe Martin, RN, Flowers Hospital; and Brenda Curenton, RN, RRT, ICU, Medical Center Enterprise
Not pictured: Steven Stokes, MD, Southeast Alabama Medical Center

Southwest Regional Hospital Council Winners

Southwest Council 2012 Winners

(l – r) Lynne Annette Godwin, RN, University of South Alabama Medical Center; Naja Hadad, MT(ASCP), University of South Alabama Children’s & Women’s Hospital; Darryl Nevell Searcy, D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital; Sandra Nichols, Providence Hospital; Celeste Goss, RN, Mobile Infirmary Medical Center; Taylor Morgan, Mobile Infirmary Medical Center; and Steve Goren, RN, BSN, Springhill Medical Center

West Regional Hospital Council Winners

2012 West Council Winners

(l-r) Bob Brooke, II, MD, Pickens County Medical Center; Kandie Brewer, RN, DCH Regional Medical Center; Angie Shaw, RRT, DCH Regional Medical Center;  Libby Junkin, R.T., (R)(CT)(ARRT), DCH Regional Medical Center; Tracy White, RN, MSN, Veterans Affairs Medical Center; and Lata Patil, MD, Bibb Medical Center
Not pictured: Leo Jackson, Bryan W. Whitfield Memorial Hospital; James Talton, PA-C, MBA, MS, FACHE, Veterans Affairs Medical Center; and John Kerr, II, MD, Marion Regional Medical Center